Workshop on Regional Climate Research: Needs and Opportunities
Workshop Participants

Workshop Home Workshop Participants Speaker Biographies
Discussion Items Workshop Presentations Contributed Abstracts

Workshop Participants Listed Alphabetically:

[ A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    J    K    L    M    O    P    R    S    T    V    W    Z ]

>> A

Raymond W. Arritt
3010 Agronomy Hall
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011
Tel: (515) 294-9870
Fax: (515) 294-2619
Email: rwarritt@iastate.edu

Roni Avissar
Chair, Department of Environmental Sciences
Director, Center for Environmental Prediction
Rutgers University – Cook College
4 College Farm Road
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8551
Tel: (732) 932-9520
Fax: (732) 932-3562
Email: avissar@gaia.rutgers.edu

>> B

David C. Bader
SC-74/GTN
U.S. Department of Energy
19901 Germantown Road
Germantown, MD 20874-1290
Tel: (301) 903-4328
Fax: (301) 903-5051
Email: dave.bader@science.doe.gov

Ferdinand Baer
Department of Meteorology
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742
Tel: (301) 405-5387
Fax: (301) 314-9482
Email: baer@atmos.umd.edu

Bryson C. Bates
CSIRO Land and Water
Private Bag No. 5
Wembley WA 6913, Australia
Tel: +61 (8) 9333 6330
Fax: +61 (8) 9333 6211
Email: bryson.bates@per.clw.csiro.au

Lennart Bengtsson
Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie (MPI)
Bundesstrasse 55
D-20416 Hamburg 13
Germany
Tel: +49 (40) 41173349
Fax: +49 (40) 41173366
Email: bengtsson@dkrz.de

Michael G. Bosilovich
Data Assimilation Office
Goddard Laboratory for Atmospheres
NASA/GSFC Code 910.3
Greenbelt, MD 20771
Tel: (301) 614-6147
Fax: (301) 614-6297
Email: mikeb@dao.gsfc.nasa.gov

>> C

Shyh-chin Chen
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Climate Research Division
UCSD, 0224
La Jolla, CA 92093-0224
Tel: (858) 534-0618
Fax: (858) 534-8561
Email: schen@ucsd.edu

Jens Hesselbjerg Christensen
Danish Climate Centre
Danish Meteorological Institute
Lyngbyvej 100
DK-2100 Copenhagen 0
Denmark
Tel: +45 (39) 157 428
Fax: +45 (39) 157 460
Email: jhc@dmi.dk

Ulrich Cubasch
Max-Planck Institut für Meteorologie
Dundesstr. 55
D-20146 Hamburg, Germany
Tel: +49 (40) 41173 Ext. 0
Fax: +49 (40) 41173 Ext. 298
Email: cubasch@dkrz.de

>> D

Michel Deque
Meteo-France CNRM/GMGEC/EAC
42 Avenue Coriolis
31057 Toulouse Cedex 01
France
Tel: +33 (561) 07 93 82
Fax: +33 (561) 07 96 10
Email: deque@meteo.fr

Michael D. Dettinger
U.S. Geological Survey
5735 Kearny Villa Road
San Diego, CA 92123
Tel: (858) 822-1507
Email: mddettin@usgs.gov

Leonard M. Druyan
Senior Research Scientist
Columbia University
Center for Climate Systems Research at NASA/Goddard Institute for Space Studies
Armstrong Hall
2880 Broadway
New York, NY 10025
Tel: (212) 678-5564
Fax: (212) 678-5552

>> E

David R. Easterling
Principal Scientist and Acting Chief, Climate Archeology and Analysis Branch
National Climatic Data Center
151 Patton Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
Tel: (828) 271-4675
Fax: (828) 271-4328
Email: deasterl@ncdc.noaa.gov

Jerry Elwood
SC-74/GTN
U.S. Department of Energy
19901 Germantown Road
Germantown, MD 20874-1290
Tel: (301) 903-3281
Fax: (301) 903-5051
Email: Jerry.Elwood@science.doe.gov

Ron Errico
Climate and Global Dynamics Division
National Center for Atmospheric Research
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Tel: (303) 497-1370
Fax: (303) 497-1700
Email: ron@ucar.edu

>> F

Jay S. Fein
Program Director
The National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Blvd.
Arlington, VA 22230
Tel: (703) 292-8527
Fax: (703) 292-9022
Email: jfein@nsf.gov

Benjamin S. Felzer
NOAA/Office of Global Programs
Suite 1210, 1100 Wayne Ave.
Silver Spring, MD 20910-5603
Tel: (301) 427-2089 x196
Fax: (301) 427-2073
Email: felzer@ogp.noaa.gov

Mike Fennessy
Center for Ocean-Land-Atmosphere Studies
4041 Powder Mill Road, Suite 302
Calverton, MD 20705-3106
Tel: (301) 902-1252
Fax: (301) 595-9793
Email: fen@cola.iges.org

Aime Fournier
Global Dynamics Section
Climate and Global Dynamics Division
National Center for Atmospheric Research
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Tel: (303) 497-1614
Fax: (303) 497-1700
Email: fournier@ucar.edu

Michael Fox-Rabinovitz
Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center
3433 Computer and Space Sciences Bldg.
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-2425
Tel: (301) 405-5395
Fax: (301) 314-9482
Email: foxrab@dao.gsfc.nasa.gov

>> G

W. Lawrence Gates
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
P.O. Box 808, L-264
Livermore, CA 94551-0808
Tel: (925) 442-7642
Fax: (925) 442-1370
Email: gates5@llnl.gov

Filippo Giorgi
Sr. Scientist and Head, Physics of Weather and Climate Section
The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics
P.O. Box 586
34100 Trieste, Italy
Tel: +39 (040) 2240 425
Fax: +39 (040) 2240 449 (or 2240 163)
Email: giorgi@ictp.trieste.it

Anne Grambsch
U.S. EPA Headquarters
Ariel Rios Building, 8601D
1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20460
Tel: (202) 564-3221
Email: grambsch.anne@epa.gov

William J. Gutowski
Professor of Meteorology
Department of Geological and Atmospheric Sciences and Department of Agronomy
Iowa State University, 3021 Agronomy
Ames, IA 50011-1010
Tel: (515) 294-5632
Fax: (515) 294-2619
Email: gutowski@iastate.edu

>> H

Chuck Hakkarinen
EPRI
3412 Hillview Avenue
P.O. Box 10412
Palo Alto, CA 94303-0813
Tel: (650) 855-2592
Fax: (650) 855-2950
Email: chakk@epri.com

James W. Hansen
Applications Research
International Research Institute for Climate Prediction
121 Monell Building
P.O. Box 1000
Palisades, NY 10964-8000
Tel: (845) 680-4410
Fax: (845) 680-4864
Email: jhansen@iri.ldeo.columbia.edu

Bruce C. Hewitson
Department of Environmental & Geographical Science, University of Cape Town
Private Bag
7701 Rondebosch, South Africa
Tel: +27 (21) 650 2878
Fax: +27 (21) 650 3791
Email: hewitson@egs.uct.ac.za

Marty Hoerling
NOAA/OAR/CDC – RCDC1
325 Broadway
Boulder, CO 80305
Tel: (303) 497-6165
Fax: (303) 497-7013
Email: mph@cdc.noaa.gov

Steve Hostetler
U.S. Geological Survey
200 SW 35th St.
Corvallis, OR 97333
Tel: (541) 754-4370
Fax: (541) 754-4799
Email: steve@ucar.edu

>> J

Daniela M. Jacob
Max-Planck Institut für Meteorologie
Dundesstr. 55
20146 Hamburg
Germany
Tel: +49 (40) 41173 Ext. 0
Fax: +49 (40) 41173 Ext. 298
Email: daniela.jacob@dkrz.de

Ming Ji
NOAA/NCEP/EMC
5200 Auth Road, Rm 807
Camp Springs, MD 20746
Tel: (301) 763-8000 Ext. 7564
Fax: (301) 763-8125
Email: Ming.Ji@noaa.gov

Richard Jones
UK Meteorological Office
The Hadley Centre for Climate Prediction and Research
London Road
Bracknell RG12 2SY
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (1344) 856418
Fax: +44 (1344) 854898
Email: rgjones@meto.gov.uk

>> K

Hisashi Kato
Central Research Institute of Electric Power Industry (CRIEPI)
2-11-1, Iwado Kita, Komae-shi
Tokyo 201-8511, Japan
Tel: (81) 3-3480-2111
Fax: (81) 3-3480-1942
Email: kato@criepi.denken.or.jp

Jinwon Kim
MS90-1116, Earth Sciences Division
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
1 Cyclotron Road
Berkeley, CA 94720
Tel: (510) 495-2375
Fax: (510) 486-7070
Email: jkim@LBL.gov

Thomas R. Knutson
NOAA/Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Lab
P.O. Box 308
Forrestal Campus, U.S. Rt. 1 N
Princeton, NJ 08542
Tel: (609) 452-6509
Fax: (609) 987-5063
Email: tk@gfdl.noaa.gov

Tiruvalem Krishnamurti
Meteorology Department
Florida State University
423-Love Building
Mail stop 4528
Tallahassee, FL 32306
Tel: (850) 644-2210
Fax: (850) 644-9642
Email: tnk@met.fsu.edu

Kenneth E. Kunkel
Head, Atmospheric Environment Section
Illinois State Water Survey
2204 Griffith Dr.
Champaign, IL 61820-7495
Tel: (217) 244-1488
Fax: (217) 244-0220
Email: k-kunkel@uiuc.edu

Ying-Hwa (Bill) Kuo
COSMIC Program
Mesoscale and Microscale Meteorology Division
National Center for Atmospheric Research
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Tel: (303) 497-8658
Fax: (303) 497-8638
Email: kuo@ucar.edu

>> L

Rene Laprise
Sc. Terre-Atmosphere
University of Quebec at Montreal
Salle PK-6528
B.P. 888, Succ. Centre-ville
Montreal, QC
Canada H3C 3P8
Tel: (514) 987-3000 poste 3302
Fax: (514) 987-7749
Email: laprise.rene@uqam.ca

Dennis P. Lettenmaier
Department of Civil Engineering
University of Washington
164 Wilcox Hall, P.O. Box 352700
Seattle, WA 98195
Tel: (206) 543-2532
Fax: (206) 685-3836
Email: lettenma@ce.washington.edu

L. Ruby Leung
Atmospheric Science and Global Change Resource
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
P.O. Box 999
Richland, WA 99352
Tel: (509) 372-6182
Fax: (509) 372-6168
Email: ruby.leung@pnl.gov

Bo Lim
Chief Technical Advisor, National Communications Support Programme
UNDP-GEF
Room 1607, 304 East 45th St
New York, NY 10017
Tel: (212) 906-5730
Fax: (212) 906-6568
Email: bo.lim@undp.org

Amanda Lynch
PAOS/CIRES, Campus 216
University of Colorado
Boulder, CO 80309-0216
Tel: (303) 492-5847
Email: amanda.lynch@colorado.edu

>> M

Michael C. MacCracken
National Assessment Coordination Office
U. S. Global Change Research Program
Suite 750
400 Virginia Avenue
Washington DC 20024
Tel: (202) 488-8630
Fax: (202) 488-8681 or (202) 488-8678
Email: mmaccrac@usgcrp.gov

Bennert Machenhauer
Climate Research Division
Danish Meteorological Institute
Lyngbyveg 100
DK-2100 Copenhagen OE
Denmark
Tel: +45 (39) 15 74 00
Fax: +45 (39) 15 74 60
Email: machenhauer@dkrz.de

John L. McGregor
CSIRO Atmospheric Research
PB1 Aspendale, Victoria 3195
Australia
Tel: +61-3-9239-4520
Fax: +61-3-9239-4444
Email: jlm@dar.csiro.au

Linda Mearns
Environmental and Societal Impacts Group
National Center for Atmospheric Research
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Tel: (303) 497-8124
Fax: (303) 497-8125
Email: lindam@ucar.edu

Gerald A. Meehl
Climate and Global Dynamics Division
National Center for Atmospheric Research
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307
Tel: (303) 497-1331
Fax: (303) 497-1333
Email: meehl@ucar.edu

James Murphy
UK Meteorological Office
The Hadley Centre for Climate Prediction and Research
London Road
Bracknell Berk. RG12 2SY
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (1344) 845 300 300
Email: jmmurphy@meto.gov.uk

>> O

Timothy J. Osborn
Climatic Research Unit
School of Environmental Sciences
University of East Anglia
Norwich NR4 7TJ
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (1603) 592089
Fax: +44 (1603) 507784
Email: t.osborn@uea.ac.uk

>> P

William T. Pennell
Atmospheric Science and Global Change Resource
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
P.O. Box 999
Richland, WA 99352
Tel: (509) 372-6256
Fax: (509) 372-6153
Email: William.pennell@pnl.gov

Roger A. Pielke, Sr.
Department of Atmospheric Science
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523
Tel: (970) 491-8293
Email: dallas@cobra.atmos.colostate.edu

>> R

David Randall
Dept of Atmospheric Science
Colorado State University
Ft. Collins, CO 80523
Tel: (303) 226-3272
Fax: (303) 491-8474
Email: randall@redfish.atmos.colostate.edu

Kelly T. Redmond
Regional Climatologist/Deputy Director
Western Regional Climate Center
Desert Research Institute
2215 Raggio Parkway
Reno, NV 89512-1095
Tel: (775) 674-7011
Fax: (775) 674-7016
Email: krwrcc@dri.edu

>> S

Peter G. Schultz
National Academy of Sciences
National Research Council
2101 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20418
Tel: (202) 334-2000
Email: pschultz@nas.edu
Web: www.nas.edu/nrc/

Fredrick Semazzi
Department of Marine, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences
North Carolina State University
Box 8208
Raleigh, NC 27695-8208
Phone: (919) 515-1434
Fax: (919) 515-1683
Email: fred_semazzi@ncsu.edu

Anji Seth
Climate Monitoring and Dissemination
International Research Institute for Climate Prediction
111 Monell Building, P.O. Box 1000
Palisades, NY 10964-8000
Tel: (845) 680-4419
Fax: (845) 680-4864
Email: seth@iri.ldeo.columbia.edu

Richard L. Smith
Department of Statistics
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
105 New West
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Tel: (919) 962-2660
Email: rls@Email.unc.edu

>> T

Joseph Tribbia
Climate and Global Dynamics Division
National Center for Atmospheric Research
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Tel: (303) 497-1377
Fax: (303) 497-1700
Email: tribbia@ucar.edu

Gregory J. Tripoli
College of Letters and Science
Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences Department
University of Wisconsin-Madison
1225 W. Dayton St.
Madison, WI 53706
Tel: (608) 262-2828
Fax: (608) 262-3700
Email: tripoli@meteor.wisc.edu

>> V

Dr. Hans von Storch
Director of Institute for Coastal Research
GKSS
Max-Planck-Strasse 1
D-21502
Geesthacht, Germany
Tel: 494152/87-1831
Fax: 494152/87-2832
Email: storch@gkss.de

>> W

Thomas T. Warner
Research Applications Program
National Center for Atmospheric Research
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Tel: (303) 497-8411
Email: warner@ucar.edu

Warren M. Washington
Climate and Global Dynamics Division
National Center for Atmospheric Research
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Tel: (303) 497-1321
Fax (303) 497-1348
Email: wmw@ucar.edu

Peter Whetton
Team Leader, Climate Impact Group
CSIRO Division of Atmospheric Research
Private Bag No. 1
Aspendale, Victoria 3195, Australia
Tel: +61 (3) 9239 4535
Fax: +61 (3) 9239 4444
Email: phw@dar.csiro.au

Tom M. L. Wigley
ACACIA Program Director
Climate and Global Dynamics Division
National Center for Atmospheric Research
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Tel: (303) 497-2690
Fax: (303) 497-2699
Email: wigley@ucar.edu

Robert Wilby
Department of Geography
King's College London
Strand
London
WC2R 2LS
United Kingdom
Email: rob.wilby@kcl.ac.uk

>> Z

Francis Zwiers
Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis
Meteorological Service of Canada
c/o University of Victoria
P.O. Box 1700, STN CSC
Victoria, BC V8W 2Y2
Canada
Tel: (250) 363-8229
Fax: (250) 363-8247
Email: francis.zwiers@ec.gc.ca

Workshop Home >> Workshop Participants