Extreme Events: Developing a Research Agenda for the 21st Century

Workshop Participants

Aaron Andersen
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Scientific Computing Division
PO Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-1206
Tel: 303-497-1837
Fax: 303-497-1804
aaron@ncar.ucar.edu

Mikhail Atallah
CERIAS and Computer Science Department
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN 47906
Tel: 765-494-6017
mja@cerias.purdue.edu

Dr. Susan Avery
Director
Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences
University of Colorado
Campus Box 216
Boulder, CO 80309-0216
Tel: 303-492-8773
Fax: 303-492-1149
susan.avery@colorado.edu

Workshop Overview

Integrated Summary

Workshop Participants

Other Workshop Attendees

Workshop Agenda

Workshop Logistics

Contributed Papers

Breakout Groups

Appendix: Research Topics

Workshop Proposal

Workshop Background
 
Dr. James Brown
Professor
Department of Biology
University of Mexico
Castetter Hall, Rm. 167
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Tel: 505-277-9337
Fax: 505-277-0304
jhbrown@unm.edu
Gerald Martone
Director of Emergency Response
International Rescue Committee
122 East 42nd Street
New York, NY 10168
Tel: 212-551-3061
Fax: 212-551-3184
gerald@intrescom.org
Dr. Ronald Brunner
Professor
Department of Political Science
University of Colorado
Ketchum 106
Boulder, CO 80309-0333
Tel: 303-492-2955
Fax: 303-492-0978
brunnerr@spot.colorado.edu
Dr. Ken Mitchell
Geography Department
Rutgers University, Livingston Campus
54 Joyce Kilmer Ave
Piscataway, NJ 08854
Tel: 732-445-4103/732-445-4082
Fax: 732-445-0006
jmitchel@rci.rutgers.edu
Professor Allin Cornell
Professor-Research
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Stanford University
Bldg. 540, Rm. 128
Stanford, CA 94305-4020
Tel: 650-854-8053
Fax: 650-854-8075
cornell@ce.stanford.edu
Dr. Chester Moore
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Division of Vector-Borne Infectious Diseases
PO Box 2087
Fort Collins, CO 80522
Tel: 970-221-6423
Fax: 970-221-6476
cgm2@cdc.gov
Dr. Margaret Davidson
Director
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Coastal Services Center
2234 S. Hobson Ave.
Charleston, SC 29405-2413
Tel: 843-740-1220
Fax: 843-740-1297
margaret.davidson@noaa.gov
Dr. Betty Morrow
Co-Director
Lab for Social and Behavioral Research
International Hurricane Center
Florida International University
University Park
Miami, FL 33199
Tel: 305-348-1607
Fax: 305-348-1605
morrowb@fiu.edu
Dr. Richard Eisner, F.A.I.A.
Regional Administrator
California Office of Emergency Services
1300 Clay Street, Suite 400
Oakland, CA 94612
Tel: 510-286-0895
Fax: 510-286-0853
Rich_eisner@oes.ca.gov
Dr. Mary Fran Myers
Co-Director
Natural Hazards Center
Campus Box 482
University of Colorado
Boulder, CO 80309-0482
Tel: 303-492-2150
Fax: 303-492-2151
Myersmf@Colorado.EDU
Lewis Gilbert
Executive Director
Office of Strategic Initiatives
Office of the Executive Vice Provost
401 Low Library, MC4332
Columbia University
New York, NY 10027
Tel: 212-854-4830
Fax: 212-854-3199
gel@ldeo.columbia.edu
Andrew Norman
Senior Analyst
MAYA Design Group
2100 Wharton St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Tel: 412-488-2900
Fax: 412-488-2940
norman@maya.com
Robert Harriss
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Environmental and Societal Impacts Group
PO Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-1206
Tel: 303-497-8106
Fax: 303-497-8125
harriss@ucar.edu
Dr. Judith Totman Parrish
Associate Dean
College of Science
Department of Geosciences
University of Arizona
Gould-Simpson Building 1025
1040 E.Fourth Street
Tucson, AZ 85721-0077
Tel: 520-621-4595 / 520-626-8516
Fax: 520-621-8393
Judy.Parrish@geo.arizona.edu
Dr. Grant Heiken
Los Alamos National Laboratory
PO Box 1663
EES-1 - MS-D462
Los Alamos, NM 87545
Tel: 505-667-8477
Fax: 505-665-3687
heiken@lanl.gov
Professor Charles Perrow
Professor Emeritus
Department of Sociology
Yale University
Box 208265
New Haven, CT 06520-8265
Tel: 203-432-3231 / 203-453-1572
Fax: 203-432-6976
charles.perrow@yale.edu
Dr. Dale Jamieson
Program Director
Environment and Technology Studies Program
Carleton College
One North College Street
Northfield, MN 55057
Tel: 507-646-4121
djamieso@Carleton.edu
Dr. Roger Pielke, Sr.
Professor
Department of Atmospheric Science
Colorado State University
208 Atmospheric Science
Fort Collins, CO 85023
Tel: 970-491-8293
Fax: 970-491-8293
dallas@cobra.atmos.colostate.edu
pielke@hercules.atmos.colostate.edu
David Krantz
406 Schermerhorn Hall
Columbia University
1190 Amsterdam Avenue, Mail Code 5501
New York, NY 10027
Tel: 212-854-4534
Fax: 212-854-3609
dhk@columbia.edu
Dr. Rutherford Platt
Department of Geosciences
University of Massachusetts
233 Morrill Science Center
Amherst, MA 01003
Tel: 413-545-2499
Fax: 413-545-1200
platt@geo.umass.edu
Professor Howard Kunreuther
Cecilia Yen Koo Professor
Professor of Decision Sciences and Public Policy and Management
Wharton School of Economics
University of Pennsylvania
3451 Walnut
Philedelphia, PA 19104
Tel: 215-898-4589
Fax: 215-573-2130
kunreuther@wharton.upenn.edu
Professor John Rundle
Director
Colorado Center for Chaos and Complexity
Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences
University of Colorado
Campus Box 216
Boulder, CO 80309
Tel: 303-492-5642
Fax: 303-492-5070
rundle@cires.colorado.edu
Dr. Myanna Lahsen
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Environmental and Societal Impacts Group
PO Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-1206
Tel: 303-497-8113
Fax: 303-497-8125
myanna@ucar.edu
Dr. Robert Shuchman
Environmental Research Institute of Michigan
PO Box 134001
Ann Arbor, MI 48113-4001
Tel: 734-623-2500
Fax: 734-623-2501
rshuchman@erim.org
Dr. Christopher Landsea
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory
Hurricane Research Division
4301 Rickenbacker Causeway
Miami, FL 33149
Tel: 305-361-4357
Fax: 305-361-4402
landsea@2aoml.noaa.gov
Mr. Ellis Stanley
Assistant City Administrative Officer
Emergency Preparedness Division
Office of the City Administrative Officer
200 North Main Street, Room E -121
Los Angeles, CA 90012
Tel: 213-485-3469
Fax: 213-485-1214
estanley@cao.ci.la.ca.us
Professor Maria Lemos
Latin American Area Center Rm. 103
University of Arizona
PO Box 210028
Tucson, AZ 85721-0028
Tel: 520-626-7242
Fax: 520-626-7248
lemos@u.arizona.edu
Professor Martin Walter
Professor of Mathematics
University of Colorado, Boulder
Campus Box 395
Boulder, CO 80309-0216
Tel: 303-492-8544
Dr. Arthur Lerner-Lam
Columbia University
Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory
PO Box 1000
61 Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964-1000
Tel: 914-359-2900
Fax: 914-359-2931
Lerner@ldeo.columbia.edu
Dr. Robert Wesson
U.S. Geological Survey
PO Box 25046, MS966
Lakewood, CO 80225
Tel: 303-273-8524
Fax: 303-273-8600
rwesson@usgs.gov

Workshop Co-Convenors

Dr. Roger Pielke, Jr.
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Environmental and Societal Impacts Group
PO Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-1206
Tel: 303-497-8111
Fax: 303-497-8125
rogerp@ucar.edu
Daniel Sarewitz
Senior Research Scholar
Center for Science, Policy, and Outcomes
209 Pennsylvania Ave. SE
Washington, DC 20003
Tel: 202-543-4159
Fax: 202-543-4621
ds533@columbia.edu

[ Top of Page ]