NCAR --> SERE --> ISSE --> The Challenge of Change

The Challenge of Change:
Managing for Sustainability of Oceanic Top Predator Species

A National Science Foundation (NSF) – Community Building Workshop
Marine Science Institute – University of California, Santa Barbara
April 12-14, 2007

Participants – Provisional List
draft April 9 2007

Robert Ahrens
Department of Zoology
University of British Columbia
6270 University Blvd.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada V6T 1Z4
Phone: +1-604-816-3463
E-mail: ahrens@zoology.ubc.ca
Frank Alcock
Assistant Professor of Political Science New College of Florida
Sarasota, FL 34243
Phone: 941-359-4483
Fax: 941-359-4475
E-mail: FAlcock@ncf.edu
  Robin Allen
Director IATTC
Headquarters, Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission
8604 La Jolla Shores Drive
La Jolla CA 92037-1508
Phone: 858-546-7100
Fax: 858-546-7133
E-mail: rallen@iattc.org
Jane Alpine
School of Zoology and QMS
University of Tasmania
Hobart, TAS 7001, Australia
E-mail: Jane.Alpine@csiro.au
  Samuel Barkin
Associate Professor of Political Science
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL 32611-7325
Phone: 352-392-0262, ext. 222
E-mail: barkin@polisci.ufl.edu
Douglas Biggs
Professor, Department of Oceanography
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX 77843-3146
Phone: 979-845-3423
Fax: 979-845-6331
E-mail: dbiggs@ocean.tamu.edu
  Chris Costello
Donald Bren School of Environmental Science & Management
UCSB
Santa Barbara CA, 93106
Phone: (805) 893-5802
Fax: 805-893-7612
E-mail: costello@bren.ucsb.edu
Elizabeth DeSombre
Department of Political Science
Wellesley College
106 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02481
Phone: 781-283-2168
Fax: 781-283-3644
E-mail: edesombr@wellesley.edu
  John Mark Dean
Marine Science Program and Center for Environmental Policy
612 Earth and Water Sciences
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC 29208
Phone: 803-777-0075
E-mail: jmdean@sc.edu
Robert Foy
University of Alaska Fairbanks
118 Trident Way
Kodiak, AK 99615
Phone: 907-539-2908
E-mail: foy@sfos.uaf.edu
  Steven Gaines
Director, Marine Science Institute
UCSB
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-6150
Phone: 805-893-3764
Fax: 805-893-8062
E-mail: gaines@msi.ucsb.edu
Vincent Gallucci
Wakefield Professor Ocean and Fisheries Sciences
Director, Center for Quantitative Science
School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences
University of Washington
Box 355020
Seattle WA 98195-5020
Phone: 206-543-1701
Fax: 206-517-4137
E-mail: vgallucc@u.washington.edu
  Kristina Gjerde
World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA)
High Seas MPA Task Force
Phone: +48-22-737-2300
E-mail: kgjerde@it.com.pl
M. Patrice Guillotreau
Laboratoire d'Economie de Nantes
Université de Nantes
chemin la Censive du Tertre
BP 52231 44322
Nantes Cedex 3, FRANCE
Phone: +33 (0)2-40-14-17-86
Fax: +33 (0)2-40-14-17-40
E-mail: patrice.guillotreau@sc-eco.univ-nantes.fr
  Elizabeth Havice
UC Berkeley
Environmental Science, Policy and Management
Phone: 510-390-6430
E-mail: ehavice@nature.berkeley.edu
Ray Hilborn
Aquatic & Fishery Sciences
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone: 206-543-3587
E-mail: rayh@u.washington.edu
  Alistair Hobday
Stream Leader - Climate Impacts, Wealth from Oceans Flagship
Senior Research Scientist- Pelagic Fisheries and Ecosystems
CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research
Phone: 03-62-325310
E-mail: Alistair.Hobday@csiro.au
Scott Holladay
Graduate Student Assistant
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Institute for the Study of Society & Environment (ISSE)
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Phone: 303-497-8136
E-mail: scotth@ucar.edu
  Peter Jacques
Department of Political Science
University of Central Florida
P.O. Box 161356
4000 Central Florida Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32816-1356
Phone: 407-823-6773
Fax: 407-823-0051
E-mail: pjacques@mail.ucf.edu
John Kennedy
Economics and Finance
Donald Whitehead Building – 407
La Trobe University
Victoria 3086
AUSTRALIA
Phone: +61-3-9479-2313
Fax: +61-3-9479-5971
E-mail: j.kennedy@latrobe.edu.au
  Suzanne Kohin
Large Pelagics Lab
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
8604 La Jolla Shores Drive
La Jolla, CA 92037-1508
Phone: 858-546-7104
Fax: 858-546-7003
E-mail: Suzanne.Kohin@noaa.gov
Patrick Lehodey
Marine Ecosystems Modeling and Monitoring by Satellites (MEMMS)
Direction Océanographie Spatiale
CLS, 8-10 rue Hermès,
31526 Ramonville St Agne Cedex
FRANCE
Phone: [33] (0)5-61-39-47-80
Fax: [33] (0)5-61-39-37-82
E-mail: PLehodey@cls.fr
  Rebecca Lent
Director of NOAA Fisheries' Office of International Affairs
NOAA Fisheries
NOAA SSMC3
1315 East-West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: 301-713-2239
E-mail: Rebecca.Lent@noaa.gov
Brian Macdonald
29 Dwyer Street
Cook ACT 2614
AUSTRALIA
Phone: 61-2-62512961
E-mail: macdonaldbr@homemail.com.au
  Bob McKelvey
Department of Mathematical Sciences
University of Montana
Missoula, MT 59801
Phone: 406-543-5996
E-mail: RWMCKELVEY@msn.com
Alistair McIlgorm
Director, National Marine Science Centre
The University of New England and Southern Cross University
PO Box J321, Coffs Harbour, NSW 2450
Australia
Phone: 02-6648-3900
E-mail: amcilgorm@nmsc.edu.au
  Kathleen Miller
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Inst. for the Study of Society & Environment (ISSE)
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307-3000
Phone: 303-497-8115
Fax: 303-497-8125
E-mail: kathleen@ucar.edu
Ronald Mitchell
Department of Political Science
University of Oregon
Eugene OR 97403-1284
Phone: 541-346-4880
Fax: 541-346-4860
E-mail: rmitchel@uoregon.edu
  Makoto Peter Miyake
Federation of Japan Tuna Fisheries Co-operative Associations
2-3-22, Kudan-kita, Chiyoda-ku
Tokyo 102-0073, Japan
Phone: +81-422-463-917
Fax: +81-422-463-917
Mobile: +81-090-3-315-8249
E-mail: p.m.miyake@gamma.ocn.ne.jp
Dominique Monie
Graduate student Bren School of Environmental Science and Management
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-5131
E-mail: dmonie@bren.ucsb.edu
  Erin Myers
Graduate student Bren School of Environmental Science and Management
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-5131
E-mail: emyers@bren.ucsb.edu
Michael Orbach
Director
Duke University Marine Laboratory
Nicholas School of the Environment and Earth Sciences
135 Duke Marine Lab Road
Beaufort, NC 28516-9721, USA
Phone: 252-504-7606
Fax: 252-504-7648
E-mail: mko@duke.edu
  Gail Osherenko
4308 Marine Science Institute
University of California
Santa Barbara CA 93106-6150
Phone: 805-893-5891
E-mail: osherenko@msi.ucsb.edu
Minling Pan
NOAA Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center
2570 Dole St.
Honolulu HI 96822
E-mail: Minling.Pan@noaa.gov
  Alison Rieser
Dai Ho Chun Distinguished Chair in Arts & Sciences
University of Hawai'i at Manoa
440 Saunders Hall
2424 Maile Way
Honolulu, HI 96822
Phone: 808-956-8467
E-mail: rieser@hawaii.edu
Anne K. Salomon
Postdoctoral Fellow
Marine Science Institute
University of California - Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, California, USA 93106
Phone: 805-722-7742
Fax: 805-893-8062
E-mail: salomon@msi.ucsb.edu
  George Shillinger
2933 Lupin Lane
Pebble Beach, CA 93953
Cell Phone: 202-549-0907
Lab Phone: 831-655-6221
E-mail: georges@stanford.edu
John Sibert
Program Manager, Pelagic Fisheries Research Program
Joint Institute for Marine and Atmospheric Research
University of Hawaii
1000 Pope Road
Marine Sciences, Room 312
Honolulu, Hawaii 96822
E-mail: sibert@hawaii.edu
Phone: 808-956-4109
Fax: 808-956-4104
  Sun Kwon Soh
Science Manager
Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission
P.O. Box 2356
Pohnpei 96941
Federated States of Micronesia
E-mail: sungkwons@mail.fm
Dale Squires
NOAA - NMFS
Southwest Fisheries Science Center
P.O. Box 271
La Jolla, California 92038
Phone: 858-546-7113
E-mail: dale.squires@noaa.gov
  Chin-Hwa (Jenny) Sun
Institute for Applied Economics
National Taiwan Ocean University
2 Pei-Ning Road
Keelung, Taiwan 20224
Phone: +886-2-2462-2324
E-mail: jsun@ntou.edu.tw
Jon Van Dyke
William S. Richardson School of Law
University of Hawaii
2515 Dole Street
Honolulu, HI 96822-2328
Phone: 808-956-8509
E-mail: jvandyke@hawaii.edu
  Andreas Walli
Hopkins Marine Station of Stanford University
Oceanview Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3094
Phone: 831-655-6221
Fax: 831-375-0793
E-mail: awalli@stanford.edu
Hiromoto Watanabe
Fishery Liaison Officer
Fisheries Department
UN FAO
Via delle Terme di Caracalla
00100 Rome, ITALY
Phone: +39-06-57055252
Fax: +39-06-57056500
E-mail: Hiromoto.Watanabe@fao.org
  George Watters
Pacific Fisheries Environmental Laboratory
1352 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, California 93950-2097
Phone: 831-648-0623
Fax: 831-648-8440
E-mail:George.Watters@noaa.gov
D.G. Webster
Wrigley Institute for Env. Studies
University of Southern California
3616 Trousdale Parkway
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0371
E-mail: dianaw@usc.edu
  Aaron W. Welch
University of Miami
Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science
Department of Marine Affairs and Policy
E-mail: awelch@rsmas.miami.edu
Ryan Wulff
NOAA Fisheries - Office of International Affairs
1315 East West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: 301-713-2276
E-mail: Ryan.Wulff@NOAA.gov
  Oran Young
Co-Director, Bren Program on Governance for Sustainable Development
Donald Bren School of Environmental Science & Management
Bren Hall 4518
University of California
Santa Barbara CA 93106-5131
Phone :805-893-8747
Fax: 805-893-7064
E-mail: young@bren.ucsb.edu
Jian Zhang
Department of Economics
2424 Maile Way
Saunders Hall 540
University of Hawaii
Phone: 808-956-2325
Fax: 808-956-4347
E-mail: zhjian@hawaii.edu